Daphne's Favorite Trees


Complete List:
Coast Redwood, Shining Willow, and Grandidier's Baobab

If you would like to determine the species of a tree, I recommend the Arbor Day Foundation's Tree Identification Field Guide.

Plant 1: Sequoia sempervirens (Coast Redwood)

This tree is also known as the California redwood. The coast redwood is the only living species of redwood in the sequoia family in the cypress family Cupressaceae. I have grown very fond of redwoods throughout my time in Santa Cruz. It amazes me how the trees can go 300 feet or taller, and how the trees grow back in rings around the original stumps of trees that once existed in their place.

There are 3 types of redwood trees, including:
  1. Sequoia sempervirens (Coast redwood)
  2. Sequoiadendron giganteum (Giant sequoia)
  3. Metasequoia glyptostrobides (Dawn redwoods)

Plant 2: Salix lucida (Shining Willow)

The shining willow can be found in Santa Cruz, as it is a native species to the Pacific West and much of North America and Canada. These grow in wetlands and while they were formerly a sub-species, they are now their own species.

There are so many different types of willow trees, so I will just list a few others:

Plant 3: Adansonia grandidieri (Grandidier’s Baobab)

This species of baobab tree is native to Madagascar. They can grow as tall as 30 meters. Sadly, the species is listed as endangered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature. I want to paint baobabs similar to the scene in this image someday.

If you have any questions or comments, please email Daphne M. White.